back to
Maddy Prior 2007
  Home - News - Projects - Biography - Steeleye Span - Carnival Band - Charity Treks - Stones Barn - The Girls - Contact - Friends - Links - Discography - Tours - Internet Links

Formed in 1969, Steeleye Span is one of the most enduring British bands.

Steeleye Span Mk 14 Ken, Peter, Maddy, Liam & Rick

They work in the genre of Folk-rock which they helped define. They reached a peak of commercial success in the 70s with All Around my Hat and Gaudete gaining chart recognition.

But commercial ambitions are not their primary concern.

Although it's always good to have success, it is the music they have chosen to concentrate on that most engages them, which is British traditional material, expanded and developed by their own writing.


Steeleye Span is like a bus. It goes along, and people get on and get off it. Sometimes the bus goes along the route you want to go, and sometimes it turns off, so you get off."

Maddy Prior


They have continued to work over the years with strong support from a core fan base, delivering many albums and CDs across the years. They are still as energetic in the promotion of their chosen path and tour frequently.

They toured the UK in 2006 with a new album called Bloody Men.


Hark The Village Wait Mooncrest / RCA 1970

Please To See The King B&C 1971

Ten Man Mop, or Mr. Reservoir Butler Rides Again Pegasus 1971

Below The Salt Chrysalis 1972

Parcel Of Rogues Chrysalis 1973

Now We Are Six Chrysalis 1974

Commoners Crown Chrysalis 1975

All Around My Hat Chrysalis 1975

Rocket Cottage Chrysalis 1976

Storm Force Ten Chrysalis 1977

Live At Last Chrysalis 1978

Sails Of Silver Chrysalis 1980

Back In Line Flutterby 1986

Tempted And Tried Dover / Chrysalis 1989

Tonights The Night..Live 1992

Time 1996

Horkstow Grange 1998

The Journey 1999

Bedlam Born 2000

Present - The Very Best Of Steeleye Span 2002

They Called Her Babylon 2004

Winter 2004

Bloody Men 2006

Live At A Distance

Cogs Wheels And Lovers 2009


Ken Nicol and Rick Kemp


Peter Knight

Rick Kemp

M Prior 2009